Skip to main content
City of Melbourne logo - click to visit City of Melbourne website

Theatre & shows

 
Melbourne offers a wealth of entertainment options. Catch a performance at one of Melbourne's many theatre venues – there are many great shows, musicals and plays to enjoy.
The Beast - Thursday 25 August 2016 to Sunday 04 September 2016 - Performing arts

The Beast

25 Aug 2016 - 4 Sep 2016, Comedy Theatre
Murder! Lies! Cows! The Beast is an organic, free range, jet-black comedy that holds a hand-crafted chef's blade to the throat of modern Australia.
Matilda the Musical - Sunday 13 March 2016 to Friday 11 November 2016 - Performing arts

Matilda the Musical

13 Mar 2016 - 11 Nov 2016, Princess Theatre
Don't miss the award-winning Matilda the Musical, a tale of an extraordinary girl who dares to take a stand and change her own destiny.
Understudied: Tales from the Hollywood Backlot - Wednesday 17 August 2016 to Sunday 21 August 2016 - Performing arts

Understudied: Tales from the Hollywood Backlot

17 Aug 2016 - 21 Aug 2016, The Butterfly Club
An encore production of this comedy set during the golden age of Hollywood, featuring the brightest stars who never made it into the spotlight.
The Secret Noise - Friday 14 October 2016 to Saturday 15 October 2016 - Performing arts

The Secret Noise

14 Oct 2016 - 15 Oct 2016, Arts House
Not all music was made for public consumption. The Secret Noise takes you under the veil to explore the realm of secret music.
Anicca - Wednesday 02 November 2016 to Sunday 06 November 2016 - Performing arts

Anicca

2 Nov 2016 - 6 Nov 2016, Arts House
Acclaimed percussive artist Matthias Schack-Arnott returns to Arts House with a new work.
Permission to Speak - Wednesday 23 November 2016 to Sunday 27 November 2016 - Performing arts

Permission to Speak

23 Nov 2016 - 27 Nov 2016, Arts House
This collaboration between director Tamara Saulwick and composer Kate Neal pairs contemporary performance with music composition.
Imagined Touch - Wednesday 07 September 2016 to Sunday 11 September 2016 - Performing arts

Imagined Touch

7 Sep 2016 - 11 Sep 2016, Arts House
Featuring deafblind artists Heather Lawson and Michelle Stevens, Imagined Touch is a tactile and immersive shared experience.
Two Jews Walk into a Theatre... - Tuesday 23 August 2016 to Sunday 28 August 2016 - Performing arts

Two Jews Walk into a Theatre...

23 Aug 2016 - 28 Aug 2016, Arts House
Director/performer Brian Lipson and choreographer/director Gideon Obarzanek become their fathers on stage, with funny, poignant and alarming results.
Late Night Swing Thing –  A Tuxedo Crooning Jazz Show - Thursday 30 June 2016 to Saturday 27 August 2016 - Performing arts

Late Night Swing Thing – A Tuxedo Crooning Jazz Show

30 Jun 2016 - 27 Aug 2016, Speakeasy HQ
Love the rat pack and late-night jazz lounges? Enjoy a late-night soul, jazz and blues set featuring Lady Fox, Matthew Hadgraft and Roy Maloy.
Nostalgia - Tuesday 16 August 2016 to Wednesday 17 August 2016 - Performing arts

Nostalgia

16 Aug 2016 - 17 Aug 2016, Melbourne Recital Centre
Hear one of the most outstanding Chinese violinists today, Lu Siqing, as he brings 'The Song of Nostalgia' to Australian audiences.

Refine results

SUBMIT A LISTING

Receive free coverage of your event, bar, restaurant or shop.
List your event/business

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter for hot tips on what's happening around town.
Sign up

CONTACT US

Do you have a question, or want to give feedback on our site?
Get in touch