Skip to main content
City of Melbourne logo - click to visit City of Melbourne website

Melbourne for free

Free events in Melbourne 
Melbourne has so much going on, and there are always plenty of events that are free. You may still need to book, however, so check individual events for details.

Inventi Ensemble: Luncthime Classics at The Dock - Thursday 11 February 2016 to Thursday 14 July 2016 - Music

Inventi Ensemble: Luncthime Classics at The Dock

11 Feb 2016 - 14 Jul 2016, Library at The Dock
Come and enjoy one of the Inventi Ensemble's lunchtime concerts of exquisite chamber music at the Library at the Dock.
The Queen Victoria River Trail Market - Friday 04 March 2016 to Sunday 06 March 2016 - Markets & pop-up shops

The Queen Victoria River Trail Market

4 Mar 2016 - 6 Mar 2016, Arts Centre Melbourne
Roll up, roll up! Queen Victoria Market, starring your favourite traders, entertainers and personalities, is appearing at Arts Centre Melbourne!
My Family: La Mia Famiglia - Saturday 05 March 2016 to Saturday 06 August 2016 - Talks & workshops

My Family: La Mia Famiglia

5 Mar 2016 - 6 Aug 2016, Kathleen Syme Library and Community Centre
Exploring your Italian family heritage? This workshop will help you discover all the tools available for your research journey.
Golden Monkey - Saturday 20 February 2016 to Thursday 25 February 2016 - Exhibitions

Golden Monkey

20 Feb 2016 - 25 Feb 2016, Melbourne Town Hall
See Lisa Roet's 10-metre high Golden Monkey on the facade of the Melbourne Town Hall to celebrate the Chinese New Year of the Monkey.
Debra Luccio – Two Dancers and the Artist - Wednesday 02 March 2016 to Sunday 27 March 2016 - Exhibitions

Debra Luccio – Two Dancers and the Artist

2 Mar 2016 - 27 Mar 2016, Steps Gallery
Debra Luccio's new exhibition, based on rehearsal images for The Australian Ballet's The Sleeping Beauty, includes a talk with two of the dancers.
ClimateWatch Walk - Tuesday 29 March 2016 to Tuesday 17 May 2016 - Tours & cruises

ClimateWatch Walk

29 Mar 2016 - 17 May 2016, Royal Botanic Gardens
Be a ClimateWatcher! Join a guide and discover more about the Royal Botanic Gardens as you record features of specific plants and animals.
Autumn Discovery Tour - Tuesday 01 March 2016 to Tuesday 31 May 2016 - Tours & cruises

Autumn Discovery Tour

1 Mar 2016 - 31 May 2016, Royal Botanic Gardens
Explore the changing hues of the Melbourne Botanic Gardens this autumn with one of their guides.
Colourbox - Wednesday 27 January 2016 to Sunday 13 March 2016 - Kids & family

Colourbox

27 Jan 2016 - 13 Mar 2016, ArtPlay
Have you ever wondered why there are seven colours in a rainbow? Find out in this interactive installation.
White Night Melbourne - Saturday 20 February 2016 to Sunday 21 February 2016 - Community events & fundraisers

White Night Melbourne

20 Feb 2016 - 21 Feb 2016, Melbourne
White Night Melbourne turns the city on its head in a celebration of culture and creativity.
Grow Show - Tuesday 09 February 2016 to Thursday 18 February 2016 - Talks & workshops

Grow Show

9 Feb 2016 - 18 Feb 2016, Melbourne Town Hall
Come along to a free lunchtime pop-up talk on gardening at the Town Hall veggie patch.

Refine results

SUBMIT A LISTING

Receive free coverage of your event, bar, restaurant or shop.
List your event/business

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter for hot tips on what's happening around town.
Sign up

CONTACT US

Do you have a question, or want to give feedback on our site?
Get in touch