Skip to main content
City of Melbourne logo - click to visit City of Melbourne website

Major events

Major Melbourne events 
Major events take centre stage in Melbourne throughout the year, from the Australian Open in January to the Melbourne Cup Carnival in November..
Image of Christmas festival
The annual Christmas festival transforms the city into a magical place with wonderful large-scale decorations, festive events and the best shopping and dining in Melbourne.
Image of Christmas Square
Sat 29 Nov 2014 to Thu 25 Dec 2014
This December the City Square will be transformed into Christmas Square, a magical wonderland of festive proportions.
Image of Commonwealth Bank Boxing Day Test
Fri 26 Dec 2014 to Tue 30 Dec 2014
See Australia take on India in the third Commonwealth Bank Test match, aka the Boxing Day Test.
Image of The Fashion World of Jean Paul Gaultier
Fri 17 Oct 2014 to Sun 08 Feb 2015
The unconventional and playfully irreverent designs of Jean Paul Gaultier will be celebrated in this international exhibition.
Image of MPavilion
Tue 07 Oct 2014 to Sun 01 Feb 2015
MPavilion a new kind of clubhouse - a commissioned space and a meeting place where you can enjoy free talks, workshops and performances.
Image of Summer Night Market
Wed 05 Nov 2014 to Wed 25 Mar 2015
Emerging designers, artists, musicians and foodies showcase their talents at one of Melbourne's favourite summer evening events.
Image of Moonlight Cinema Melbourne
Thu 04 Dec 2014 to Sun 29 Mar 2015
Australia's favourite and biggest outdoor cinema, Moonlight Cinema, shows advance screenings, new releases and cult favourites all summer long.
Image of Grease
Thu 11 Dec 2014 to Thu 08 Jan 2015
Grease is still the word, as John Frost's new multimillion-dollar production comes to Melbourne, starring Rob Mills, Gretel Scarlett and Bert Newton.
Image of New Year's Eve
Thu 11 Dec 2014 to Thu 08 Jan 2015
The New Year's Eve early fireworks display can be viewed by visiting Yarra Park. The midnight fireworks can be seen from anywhere you can see the city skyline.
Image of AFC Asian Cup Australia 2015
Fri 09 Jan 2015 to Sat 31 Jan 2015
Asia's biggest football tournament, the AFC Asia Cup, is coming to Australia for the first time in January 2015 and Melbourne will host seven games.
Image of Australian Open 2015
Mon 19 Jan 2015 to Sun 01 Feb 2015
January in Melbourne means only one thing – the Australian Open is back in town!
Image of SummerSalt Outdoor Arts Festival 2015
Fri 23 Jan 2015 to Sat 21 Feb 2015
Over five extraordinary summer weekends, the Melbourne Arts Precinct is turned on its head with music, dance, circus, theatre and art.
Image of Star Trek In Concert
Sat 31 Jan 2015 to Sun 01 Feb 2015
The Melbourne Symphony Orchestra presents Star Trek in Concert, live at the Plenary, screening J.J. Abrams film while the MSO performs the score live.
Image of Chinese New Year
Chinese New Year is the biggest event on Melbourne's Chinese calendar, bringing with it two weeks of celebration and festivities.
Image of Pause Fest 2015
Mon 09 Feb 2015 to Sun 15 Feb 2015
Pause Fest is Australia’s premier digital event, aimed at supporting and showcasing the best in creative and tech.
Image of Robert Jacks: Order and Variation
Fri 03 Oct 2014 to Sun 15 Feb 2015
The first large-scale retrospective of Robert Jacks, one of Australia’s most significant and accomplished abstract artists.
Image of Strictly Ballroom the Musical
Tue 20 Jan 2015 to Sun 15 Mar 2015
The brand-new production of Strictly Ballroom the Musical has audiences dancing in the aisles in a kaleidoscope of colour and fun.
Image of Totem
Wed 21 Jan 2015 to Sun 29 Mar 2015
Featuring a cast of 45 acrobats, actors, musicians and singers, Totem is an uplifting array of athleticism, comedy and surprising visual effects.
Image of Thriller Live
Wed 28 Jan 2015 to Sun 08 Feb 2015
Direct from London's West End, Thriller Live celebrates the undisputed King of Pop featuring the songs of Michael Jackson and the Jackson Five.
Image of The Lion King
Fri 20 Feb 2015 to Sun 10 May 2015
Brilliantly re-imagined by director Julie Taymor, The Lion King has been transformed into a spectacular theatrical experience.
Image of Melbourne Food and Wine Festival
Fri 27 Feb 2015 to Sun 15 Mar 2015
Melbourne Food and Wine Festival will take a journey to new frontiers of flavour with amazing international guests and exciting events over 17 days.
Image of Melbourne International Design Week 2015
Mon 11 May 2015 to Sun 17 May 2015
Melbourne International Design Week is a celebration of design excellence.
Image of Anything Goes
Sun 31 May 2015 to Sat 20 Jun 2015
Helpmann Award-winning Dean Bryan and Andrew Hallsworth stage a brand new production of Cole Porter's de-lightful, de-lovely musical, Anything Goes.

 More to explore

Image of Federation Square - what's on
There's always something going on at Fed Square, with an impressive calendar of events and activities taking place throughout the year.
Image of Festivals
There's always a festival going on in Melbourne, whether it’s film, comedy, arts, music or design. International artists often top the bill, along with home-grown talent.
Image of Festival calendar
Whenever you visit Melbourne, you are sure to be swept up in one of the city's fantastic festivals or major events that are on throughout the year.

 

Refine results

SUBMIT A LISTING

Receive free coverage of your event, bar, restaurant or shop.
List your event/business

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter for hot tips on what's happening around town.
Sign up

CONTACT US

Do you have a question, or want to give feedback on our site?
Get in touch
Copyright © 2013 City of MelbourneDisclaimerSite mapPrivacyView mobile site