Skip to main content
City of Melbourne logo - click to visit City of Melbourne website

Major events

Major Melbourne events 
Major events take centre stage in Melbourne throughout the year, from the Australian Open in January to the Melbourne Cup Carnival in November..
Image of AFL Grand Final
Sat 27 Sep 2014, 2:30pm – 6pm
The Australian Football League grand final offers sheer atmosphere and excitement and is a truly unique Australian experience.
Image of MCG Open Day
Sun 28 Sep 2014, 10am – 3pm
On Sunday September 28, the day after the 2014 AFL Grand Final, the MCG will be open for everyone to enjoy.
Image of Victorian Seniors Festival
Sun 05 Oct 2014 to Sun 12 Oct 2014
The Victorian Seniors Festival is on again, with a jam-packed program of entertainment and activities for you to enjoy.
Image of Mid–Century Modern: Australian Furniture Design
Fri 30 May 2014 to Sun 19 Oct 2014
Explore the first major exhibition dedicated to Australian furniture of the 1940s to the 1970s showcasing more than 100 iconic pieces.
Image of Les Misérables
Sun 22 Jun 2014 to Sun 26 Oct 2014
The Australian premiere of Cameron Mackintosh's acclaimed new production of Les Misérables is now playing at Her Majesty's Theatre.
Image of Dreamworks Animation – The Exhibition
Thu 10 Apr 2014 to Sun 26 Oct 2014
Discover the creativity behind 20 years of beloved DreamWorks animated films in the studio's first ever international exhibition.
Image of Melbourne Fringe Festival
Wed 17 Sep 2014 to Sun 05 Oct 2014
Melbourne Fringe Festival is an open-access event that brings the city alive with over 400 events, performances and exhibitions.
Image of Royal Melbourne Show
Sat 20 Sep 2014 to Wed 01 Oct 2014
The Royal Melbourne Show is Victoria’s largest annual community event, bringing together the very best of entertainment, agriculture and fine food.
Image of Once
Fri 26 Sep 2014 to Sun 16 Nov 2014
Winner of eight Tony Awards, including best musical, Once is a truly original Broadway experience based on the much-loved Oscar-winning film.
Image of Melbourne Festival
Fri 10 Oct 2014 to Sun 26 Oct 2014
Melbourne Festival is one of the world's leading arts festivals and Australia's premier celebration of art and culture from around the world.
Image of Medibank Melbourne Marathon Festival
Sun 12 Oct 2014, all day
Take part in Australia's most popular marathon festival this October.
Image of ACO – Tognetti’s Beethoven
Sun 26 Oct 2014 to Mon 27 Oct 2014
Richard Tognetti directs Beethoven's Symphony No.1, Coriolan–Overture and Triple Concerto plus new work, Water, by Radiohead's Jonny Greenwood.
Image of Matthew Bourne's Swan Lake
Thu 16 Oct 2014 to Sat 25 Oct 2014
Matthew Bourne's Swan Lake returns this October to Melbourne's Regent Theatre.
Image of Bupa Around the Bay – Ride for a Child in Need
Sun 19 Oct 2014, 5:30am – 6pm
Bupa Around the Bay – Ride for a Child in Need is Australia's largest one-day bike ride.
Image of Melbourne Knowledge Week
Melbourne Knowledge Week celebrates the innovative thinking and industries that contribute to our city's modern make-up.
Image of Melbourne Cup Carnival
Sat 01 Nov 2014 to Sat 08 Nov 2014
The Melbourne Cup Carnival is a world-class event that encompasses the finest racing, entertainment, fashion, culture, food and wine at Flemington.
Image of Christmas festival
The annual Christmas Festival transforms the city into a magical place with wonderful large-scale decorations, festive events and the best shopping and dining in Melbourne.
Image of The Big Design Market
Fri 05 Dec 2014 to Sun 07 Dec 2014
The Big Design Market brings together the best of Australian and international design for three huge days of shopping all under one roof.
Image of ACO – Paganini Tognetti
Wed 10 Dec 2014, 8pm – 10pm
Experience Italian showpieces written by some of the earliest violin virtuosos and high octane 20th-century string works.
Image of Grease
Thu 11 Dec 2014 to Thu 08 Jan 2015
Grease is still the word, as John Frost's new multimillion-dollar production comes to Melbourne, starring Rob Mills, Gretel Scarlett and Bert Newton.
Image of New Year's Eve at Fed Square
Wed 31 Dec 2014 to Thu 01 Jan 2015
Bring in the new year in the heart of Melbourne with a huge concert at Fed Square.
Image of Star Trek In Concert
Sat 31 Jan 2015 to Sun 01 Feb 2015
The Melbourne Symphony Orchestra presents Star Trek in Concert, live at the Plenary, screening J.J. Abrams film while the MSO performs the score live.
Image of Strictly Ballroom the Musical
Tue 20 Jan 2015 to Sun 15 Mar 2015
The brand-new production of Strictly Ballroom the Musical has audiences dancing in the aisles in a kaleidoscope of colour and fun.
Image of Totem
Wed 21 Jan 2015 to Sun 29 Mar 2015
Featuring a cast of 45 acrobats, actors, musicians and singers, Totem is an uplifting array of athleticism, comedy and surprising visual effects.
Image of The Lion King
Fri 20 Feb 2015 to Sun 10 May 2015
Brilliantly re-imagined by director Julie Taymor, The Lion King has been transformed into a spectacular theatrical experience.

 More to explore

Image of Federation Square - what's on
There's always something going on at Fed Square, with an impressive calendar of events and activities taking place throughout the year.
Image of Festivals
There's always a festival going on in Melbourne, whether it’s film, comedy, arts, music or design. International artists often top the bill, along with home-grown talent.
Image of Festival calendar
Whenever you visit Melbourne, you are sure to be swept up in one of the city's fantastic festivals or major events that are on throughout the year.

 

Refine results

SUBMIT A LISTING

Receive free coverage of your event, bar, restaurant or shop.
List your event/business

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter for hot tips on what's happening around town.
Sign up

CONTACT US

Do you have a question, or want to give feedback on our site?
Get in touch
Copyright © 2013 City of MelbourneDisclaimerSite mapPrivacyView mobile site