Skip to main content

Major events

Major Melbourne events 
Major events take centre stage in Melbourne throughout the year, from the Australian Open in January to the Melbourne Cup Carnival in November.
Image of Queen Victoria Market
Tue 01 Jul 2014 to Sat 31 Dec 2016
Queen Victoria Market is much more than Melbourne's shopping mecca – it's a historic landmark, a tourist attraction and a Melbourne institution.
Image of Matilda the Musical
Sun 13 Mar 2016 to Fri 11 Nov 2016
Don't miss the award-winning Matilda the Musical, a tale of an extraordinary girl who dares to take a stand and change her own destiny.
Image of Jurassic World: The Exhibition
Sat 19 Mar 2016 to Sun 02 Oct 2016
Get closer to dinosaurs than ever before in Jurassic World: The Exhibition!
Image of We Will Rock You
Tue 30 Aug 2016 to Sun 30 Oct 2016
We Will Rock You, the worldwide smash hit musical by Queen and Ben Elton, is now playing in Melbourne!
Image of 2016 Toyota AFL Grand Final Parade
Fri 30 Sep 2016, noon – 1pm
Join the cavalcade of Toyota HiLuxes carrying the Grand Finalist teams from the Old Treasury Building to Yarra Park at the MCG.
Image of Melbourne Festival
Thu 06 Oct 2016 to Sun 23 Oct 2016
Melbourne Festival is one of Australia's flagship international arts festivals and one of the major multi-arts festivals of the world.
Image of Melbourne Fringe Festival 2016
Thu 15 Sep 2016 to Sun 02 Oct 2016
The Melbourne Fringe Festival is Victoria's most vibrant independent arts showcase.
Image of The Art of Banksy
Fri 07 Oct 2016 to Sun 22 Jan 2017
Inspired by the streets of London, this exhibition takes visitors on an artistic adventure, exploring the mind of Banksy and his satirical street art.
Image of Kinky Boots
Wed 12 Oct 2016 to Sun 27 Nov 2016
Kinky Boots is Broadway's huge-hearted, high-heeled hit and it's coming to Melbourne!
Image of David Hockney
Fri 11 Nov 2016 to Mon 13 Mar 2017
The NGV presents a major solo exhibition of one of the most influential living artists, David Hockney.
Image of Equitana Melbourne
Thu 17 Nov 2016 to Sun 20 Nov 2016
Equitana is the most anticipated equine event of its kind in the Southern Hemisphere, attracting over 50,000 visitors.
Image of The Ring Cycle
Mon 21 Nov 2016 to Fri 16 Dec 2016
Opera Australia's major production of Wagner's The Ring Cycle returns to Arts Centre Melbourne.
Image of One Day International - Australia v New Zealand
Fri 09 Dec 2016, 2:20pm – till late
Melbourne's summer of cricket starts early when Australia meets New Zealand at the MCG for the Victoria Bitter One Day International.
Image of The Book of Mormon
Wed 18 Jan 2017 to Fri 31 Mar 2017
The Broadway musical from South Park creators Trey Parker and Matt Stone, and Avenue Q co-creator Robert Lopez, comes to Melbourne!
Image of Melbourne International Comedy Festival
Wed 29 Mar 2017 to Sun 23 Apr 2017
Australia's largest comedy festival will be bringing the local and international laughs back to Melbourne between 29 March and 23 April 2017!

 More to explore

Image of Federation Square - what's on
There's always something going on at Fed Square, with an impressive calendar of events and activities taking place throughout the year.
Image of Theatre & shows
Melbourne offers a wealth of entertainment options. Catch a performance at one of Melbourne's many theatre venues – there are many great shows, musicals and plays to enjoy.
Image of Festivals
There's always a festival going on in Melbourne, whether it’s film, comedy, arts, music or design. International artists often top the bill, along with home-grown talent.
Image of Festivals and events calendar
Whenever you visit Melbourne, you are sure to be swept up in one of the city's fantastic festivals or major events that are on throughout the year.

SUBMIT A LISTING

Receive free coverage of your event, bar, restaurant or shop.
List your event/business

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter for hot tips on what's happening around town.
Sign up

CONTACT US

Do you have a question, or want to give feedback on our site?
Get in touch