Skip to main content
City of Melbourne logo - click to visit City of Melbourne website

Major events

Major Melbourne events 
Major events take centre stage in Melbourne throughout the year, from the Australian Open in January to the Melbourne Cup Carnival in November.
Image of Christmas festival
The annual Christmas festival transforms the city into a magical place and celebrates the spirit of Christmas in true Melbourne style.
Image of The Age Good Food Month presented by Citi
Sun 01 Nov 2015 to Mon 30 Nov 2015
Melbourne, get ready to join the feast! The Age Good Food Month program has more than 240 events taking place across the city and regional Victoria.
Image of An Evening With Oprah
Wed 02 Dec 2015, 8pm – till late
Oprah Winfrey takes to the stage, bringing her personal story and insights to life in a one-of-a-kind intimate evening.
Image of Disability Sport and Recreation Festival
Thu 03 Dec 2015, 10am – 3pm
Try every adaptive sport imaginable, meet the players and discover the world of inclusive recreation at this free, accessible, family-friendly event.
Image of AC/DC
Sun 06 Dec 2015 to Tue 08 Dec 2015
Legendary rock band AC/DC play live stadium shows in Melbourne this December.
Image of Andy Warhol | Ai Weiwei
Fri 11 Dec 2015 to Wed 24 Aug 2016
A major international exhibition featuring two of the most significant artists of the 20th and 21st centuries – Andy Warhol and Ai Weiwei.
Image of Pause Fest 2016
Mon 08 Feb 2016 to Sun 14 Feb 2016
Make ideas happen, build successful products and be immersed in the world's best digital minds at Pause Fest.
Image of Georgy Girl - The Seekers Musical
Tue 15 Dec 2015 to Sun 20 Mar 2016
Celebrating one of Australia’s most loved groups, Georgy Girl – The Seekers Musical will have its world premiere in Melbourne this December.
Image of CATS
Fri 18 Dec 2015 to Sun 10 Jan 2016
The acclaimed revival of Andrew Lloyd Webber's record-breaking musical CATS comes to Melbourne's Regent Theatre from December 18.
Image of Melbourne Latin Summer Festival 2016
Sat 09 Jan 2016, noon – 9pm
Celebrate summer with Latin passion, and experience the culture, entertainment, food and music of Latin America.
Image of Singin' in the Rain
Sat 07 May 2016 to Sun 29 May 2016
With its joyous story and sumptuous set design and costumes, Singin' in the Rain showers you with everything you could wish for in a hit musical.
Image of Iron Maiden – The Book of Souls Tour
Mon 09 May 2016, 7:30pm – till late
Rock legends Iron Maiden, whose new studio double album 'The Book of Souls' just debuted at number two in Australia, will make a massively anticipated
Image of The Sound of Music
Thu 19 May 2016 to Sun 31 Jul 2016
Following its record-breaking run at the London Palladium, the world's best-loved musical, The Sound of Music, is coming to Australia!
Image of We Will Rock You
Tue 30 Aug 2016 to Fri 30 Sep 2016
We Will Rock You, the worldwide smash hit musical by Queen and Ben Elton returns to Melbourne!
Image of MFWF 2016
Fri 04 Mar 2016 to Sun 13 Mar 2016
The 2016 Melbourne Food and Wine Festival presented by Bank of Melbourne will run from March 4–13 in Australia's culinary capital, Melbourne.
Image of Kinky Boots
Mon 31 Oct 2016 to Sat 01 Jul 2017
Kinky Boots is Broadway’s huge-hearted, high-heeled hit and it's coming to Melbourne!

 More to explore

Image of Federation Square - what's on
There's always something going on at Fed Square, with an impressive calendar of events and activities taking place throughout the year.
Image of Theatre & shows
Melbourne offers a wealth of entertainment options. Catch a performance at one of Melbourne's many theatre venues – there are many great shows, musicals and plays to enjoy.
Image of Festivals
There's always a festival going on in Melbourne, whether it’s film, comedy, arts, music or design. International artists often top the bill, along with home-grown talent.
Image of Festivals and events calendar
Whenever you visit Melbourne, you are sure to be swept up in one of the city's fantastic festivals or major events that are on throughout the year.

Refine results


Receive free coverage of your event, bar, restaurant or shop.
List your event/business


Subscribe to our weekly newsletter for hot tips on what's happening around town.
Sign up


Do you have a question, or want to give feedback on our site?
Get in touch