Skip to main content
City of Melbourne logo - click to visit City of Melbourne website

Major events

Major Melbourne events 
Major events take centre stage in Melbourne throughout the year, from the Australian Open in January to the Melbourne Cup Carnival in November..
Image of Moomba Festival
Fri 06 Mar 2015 to Mon 09 Mar 2015
Moomba celebrates Melbourne's appetite for discovery with a bustling carnival and a family-friendly program of free entertainment for all ages.
Image of Birdman Rally
Sun 08 Mar 2015, noon – 2pm
Look on as Birdmen suit up in their homemade flying devices and jump from the banks of the Yarra to see who can soar the furthest for charity.
Image of Moomba Parade
Mon 09 Mar 2015, 11am – noon
Experience the extraordinary spirit and wonder of Moomba when it's brought to life through the magnificent Moomba Parade.
Image of Sweet Charity
Wed 25 Feb 2015 to Sun 01 Mar 2015
After a sell-out season at Sydney's Hayes Theatre Co, the award-winning musical Sweet Charity comes to Melbourne for a strictly limited engagement.
Image of As You Like It
Tue 30 Dec 2014 to Sat 14 Mar 2015
'As You Like It' takes centre-stage in the Australian Shakespeare Company’s new festival playground at the Royal Botanic Gardens.
Image of Giselle
Fri 13 Mar 2015 to Mon 23 Mar 2015
Don’t miss Maina Gielgud's acclaimed production of Giselle – one of ballet's greats, filled with human emotion and unearthly beauty.
Image of Summer Night Market
Wed 05 Nov 2014 to Wed 25 Mar 2015
Emerging designers, artists, musicians and foodies showcase their talents at one of Melbourne's favourite summer evening events.
Image of Moonlight Cinema Melbourne
Thu 04 Dec 2014 to Sun 29 Mar 2015
Australia's favourite and biggest outdoor cinema, Moonlight Cinema, shows advance screenings, new releases and cult favourites all summer long.
Image of Chinese New Year
Chinese New Year is the biggest event on Melbourne's Chinese calendar, bringing with it two weeks of celebration and festivities.
Image of Strictly Ballroom the Musical
Tue 20 Jan 2015 to Sun 15 Mar 2015
The brand-new production of Strictly Ballroom the Musical has audiences dancing in the aisles in a kaleidoscope of colour and fun.
Image of Totem
Wed 21 Jan 2015 to Sun 29 Mar 2015
Featuring a cast of 45 acrobats, actors, musicians and singers, Totem is an uplifting array of athleticism, comedy and surprising visual effects.
Image of Melbourne International Comedy Festival
Wed 25 Mar 2015 to Sun 19 Apr 2015
Offering a month-long program of stand-up comedy, cabaret, theatre, street performance, film, television, radio and visual arts.
Image of The Lion King
Fri 20 Feb 2015 to Sun 10 May 2015
Brilliantly re-imagined by director Julie Taymor, The Lion King has been transformed into a spectacular theatrical experience.
Image of Melbourne Food and Wine Festival
Fri 27 Feb 2015 to Sun 15 Mar 2015
Melbourne Food and Wine Festival will take a journey to new frontiers of flavour with amazing international guests and exciting events over 17 days.
Image of 25th Melbourne Queer Film Festival
Thu 19 Mar 2015 to Mon 30 Mar 2015
The Melbourne Queer Film Festival is one of Melbourne's most respected and successful annual arts events.
Image of ICC Cricket World Cup – Quarter Final 2
Thu 19 Mar 2015, 2:30pm – 10:30pm
The MCG hosts the ICC Cricket World Cup's second Quarter Final.
Image of Melbourne International Comedy Festival
Wed 25 Mar 2015 to Sun 19 Apr 2015
Offering a month-long program of stand-up comedy, cabaret, theatre, street performance, film, television, radio and visual arts.
Image of Melbourne International Flower and Garden Show
Wed 25 Mar 2015 to Sun 29 Mar 2015
The Melbourne International Flower & Garden Show returns for its 20th year this March.
Image of Don't Stop Me Now!
Sun 15 Mar 2015, 1pm – 2pm
Don't Stop Me Now! is a fashion show unlike any other, and proves that flair and fun have no age limit.
Image of Dance Massive
Tue 10 Mar 2015 to Sun 22 Mar 2015
World premieres from Chunky Move, Lucy Guerin Inc, Phillip Adams BalletLab and Force Majeure are highlights of the fourth Dance Massive program.
Image of Dirty Dancing
Wed 04 Mar 2015 to Sun 03 May 2015
Dirty Dancing is an unprecedented live experience, with heart-pounding music, passionate romance and sensationally sexy dancing.
Image of ICC Cricket World Cup – Final
Sun 29 Mar 2015, 2:30pm – 10:30pm
The MCG hosts the final of the ICC Cricket World Cup.
Image of Melbourne International Design Week 2015
Mon 11 May 2015 to Sun 17 May 2015
Melbourne International Design Week is a celebration of design excellence.
Image of Anything Goes
Sun 31 May 2015 to Sat 20 Jun 2015
Helpmann Award-winning Dean Bryan and Andrew Hallsworth stage a brand new production of Cole Porter's de-lightful, de-lovely musical, Anything Goes.
Image of The Australian Ballet presents The Dream
Thu 04 Jun 2015 to Sat 13 Jun 2015
Mischievous sprites, tangled loves and dazzling dance: this sparkling ballet triple bill is an effervescent evening for all the family.
Image of The Australian Ballet presents Cinderella
Fri 19 Jun 2015 to Sat 27 Jun 2015
Witty, vibrant, glamorous and romantic, Alexei Ratmansky's Cinderella will sweep you off your feet.
Image of The Australian Ballet presents 20:21
Thu 27 Aug 2015 to Sat 05 Sep 2015
The best of the 20th century, the freshest of the 21st: this electrifying triple bill showcases ballet giants past and present.

 More to explore

Image of Federation Square - what's on
There's always something going on at Fed Square, with an impressive calendar of events and activities taking place throughout the year.
Image of Festivals
There's always a festival going on in Melbourne, whether it’s film, comedy, arts, music or design. International artists often top the bill, along with home-grown talent.
Image of Festivals and events calendar
Whenever you visit Melbourne, you are sure to be swept up in one of the city's fantastic festivals or major events that are on throughout the year.

 

Refine results

SUBMIT A LISTING

Receive free coverage of your event, bar, restaurant or shop.
List your event/business

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter for hot tips on what's happening around town.
Sign up

CONTACT US

Do you have a question, or want to give feedback on our site?
Get in touch
Copyright © 2013 City of MelbourneDisclaimerSite mapPrivacyView mobile site